

RSETHZ 211.810.83

Statutes for the "Heinz Hopf Prize"

(of May 20, 2008)

The Conference of Professors of the Department of Mathematics,

pursuant to Art. 49 of the Ordinance Concerning the Organization of the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH Zurich) of December 16, 2003¹, with the approbation of the President of ETH Zurich,

decrees:

Art. 1 Establishment of the Prize

The "Heinz Hopf Prize" at ETH Zurich is established based on a donation made by Dorothee and Alfred Aeppli.

Art. 2 Purpose

¹The Heinz Hopf Prize is awarded for outstanding scientific work in the field of pure mathematics.

² The Prize is awarded every two years on the occasion of the *Heinz Hopf Lectures*. The Lectures are given by the prize winner.

³The Prize amount is CHF 30'000.-.

Art. 3 Board

¹The Board for the Heinz Hopf Prize has the responsibility for allocating further capital for sustaining the funding of the Prize and of the events in conjunction with the presentation of the Prize.

² The Board consists of three persons appointed by the President of ETH Zurich as proposed according to para. 3. The President appoints also the Chairman of the Board. At least one member of the Board shall have connections with working life/business and industry.

³One member each is proposed by

- a) the Conference of Professors of the Department of Mathematics at ETH Zurich;
- b) the Swiss Mathematical Society;
- c) the Executive Board of ETH Zurich.

⁴The term of office starts on July 1st. The members are appointed for a period of four years and may be reappointed once.

¹ RSETHZ 201.021

Art. 4 Committee

¹The Heinz Hopf Prize Committee evaluates the nominations for the Prize and submits a recommendation to the Conference of Professors at the Department of Mathematics at ETH Zurich.

² The Committee consists of five persons who are outstanding research scientists in the field of mathematics.

³The Chairman of the Committee and the four other members of the Committee are proposed by the Conference of Professors at the Department of Mathematics at ETH Zurich and appointed by the President of ETH Zurich.

⁴The Chairman is Professor in Mathematics at ETH Zurich. He is charged with the administration of the finances of the Prize. He calls for nominations and organizes the *Heinz Hopf Lectures*.

⁵The Conference of Professors at the Department of Mathematics at ETH Zurich shall select the four other members of the Committee, taking into consideration at least one of the suggestions by each of the following bodies:

- a) the Department of Mathematics at ETH Zurich (2 persons);
- b) the Swiss Mathematical Society (2 persons);
- c) the European Mathematical Society (2 persons).

⁶ The term of office starts on July 1st. The Chairman of the Committee is appointed for a period of four years, the four other members for a period of two years. They may be reappointed once.

Art. 5 Nomination and award

¹The right to nominate for the Heinz Hopf Prize is open to anyone. Nominations are confidential and a nomination should not be made known to the nominee.

²Self-nominations are not acceptable.

³Deceased persons cannot be nominated. If a Prize Laureate passes away before receiving the Prize, then the Prize will be awarded post mortem.

⁴The Prize is awarded in general to a single person.

Art. 6 Form and content of the nomination

¹The nomination should be submitted by no later than November 15th to be considered a nomination for the following year.

²Candidates are nominated by using the online submission form. The nomination shall contain a curriculum vitae and a description of the candidates works, together with names of specialists who may be contacted.

Art. 7 Effective Date

These statutes will become effective on July 1st, 2008.